Skip to content

Project-a-palooza

September 16, 2010

When you’re excited about something it can be hard to constrain yourself. In my case, I really love starting a new project. The problem is that finishing something can be a bit of drag in my books. I once heard that that people in general fall into one of three categories: Starters, Middle Part People and Finishers. Not sure if this is true, but I found it reassuring that I am in a category, and that not loving the middle and finishing part of a project is just part of who I am and not some fatal character flaw.

The other thing about me is that I am not really a fast worker. I like to take my time and do things with care. Generally speaking, I’m more of a tortoise than a hare…


(source)

Well, let’s just say slow and steady wins the race, shall we? It sure makes me feel a little better…

Anyway, I’ve felt that my little projects haven’t really been worth sharing until they’re finished. But I need some motivation. So I thought sharing half finished projects will motivate me to push through and get some stuff finished. In the spirit of ‘slow and steady’, I’m going to aim to post about one project at a time once a week. That seems like a pace I could probably handle…

At this point, I have – let me count – 5 things on the go. Maybe that’s not so many, but it’s starting to feel a little overwhelming and I’d like to finish some things before I start something new.

Well, perhaps I should start with how this all got started.

The background:

It all started when I decided I wanted to paint a small room in our house to use as my study.

Before:

The room was a nursery for the previous owners and became a storage space for us after serving as Halo’s room for a while. After scraping off the wallpaper and filling holes, I painted it white. It is a fairly small room and it’s located on the north side of our house, so I felt it really needed to be light and bright.

After:

The walls are a nice white and it feels much more spacious and brighter in there.

On the bottom of the photo you can see a little sneak peek of stuff that’s still mid-project. Next week, I’ll talk about one of them.

XO Jadyn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 5:50 pm

    Well Jadyn, you are just like the rest of us! Just we don’t always share that we have so many projects going on, good for you! I was actually thinking of doing this same type of post on my blog. I feel like I don’t post enough, but like you, I want to get the project finished before I post about it. But sometimes I just wish I would post about progress rather than finish. I think it gets you more motivated because people put their input in and gets you all excited again. The room looks great, love the color choice. Just put the stuff in there now, and as you go along you can fix it up and get it to the way you want. Once you start using the room, I bet you will get more done. Have a great day!

  2. September 17, 2010 5:37 am

    Well, the room definitely had “character” before… but I love it with the new white look! How exciting to have a studio all of your own… I can’t wait to see it in the next stages of decoration!

  3. September 17, 2010 1:53 pm

    i’m a starter! i love the beginning of a project but tend to tire of it before getting to the end-

    the room looks so refreshed! :)

Leave a Reply

