Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Zebra Print

September 13, 2010

I never thought of myself as an animal print type of girl. I’m laid back, casual – it just seemed to glam for my liking. But then it happened…

I have someone in my life who is obsessed with zebra print. And for last year’s Christmas, I bought her a zebra print throw. While it was waiting to be wrapped, I placed it on a chair in the corner of our living room. It sat there for quite a while ( I am a procrastinator…) and I actually became quite attached to it. I actually was a little sad to see it go when Christmas came around. Funnily enough, so was Ben.

In The Netherlands earlier this year, I snatched up two zebra throw pillows to make up for the loss. They now sit on my striped sofa together with a damask throw pillow. Does that sound like a lot of patterns together?

Today, I decided to find some images that include zebra print to show me how it’s done. I really like it when it’s used to add a touch of glamor to a room that includes classic furniture.

The zebra rug is combined with damask curtains. So maybe it’s not such a crazy combination? I also love the touches of coral and aqua in this room as well as the big white sectional.

I love the juxtaposition of the classic elements in the room – the chandelier, the fireplace – with the modern furniture and, of course, the zebra rug.

I love how the color of the upholstery adds an element of the unexpected to this room. The zebra rug adds to the hunting-theme.

Both zebra and leopard print in one room, yet it doesn’t seem overwhelming. The neutral color of the wall helps keep it balanced. I also love the pink and blue upholstery on the desk chair.

Speaking of a lot of patterns in one room… Yet, it doesn’t seem overly busy because they are all the same color.

Here, the zebra print rug is used in a more casual environment. This is a Californian home inspired by European classicism. I think the classic European style mixed with a laid back Californian vibe make for a really nice mix.

Because I couldn’t help myself… kind of a strange hybrid of zebra rug and a Union Jack pattern. Really, what’s not to love?!

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO Jadyn

Image Credits:
1. Sabine Vavra
2. Kashani Perera
3. Coco+Kelley
4. Designed by Joe Nye, photo by John Coolidge for House Beautiful, October 2007
5. Erinn Valencich via HTGV designer portfolio
6. Veranda
7. Jonathan Adler

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 7:22 am

    How brave… zebra print is quite a statement! Will we get to see a pic of your pattern-full sofa? I love that Union Jack rug! You always find the loveliest British things… do you have any Union Jack decor in your house?

  2. September 14, 2010 7:02 pm

    Thanks for including my work in your lovely post on zebra rugs! Its always nice to see others like my work!

    -Sabina

  3. September 14, 2010 9:36 pm

    I love animal prints especially zebra. It can go with any decor in my book. That British rug is so cute.

  4. September 15, 2010 9:38 am

    Hi Jadyn
    although I can’t say I’m a big fun of animal prints I admit this zebra rug makes quite a statement and looks stunning !!
    Needless to say I love the unino jack number.. you know I’m crazy about all things british :))
    Hugs to you

  5. September 16, 2010 1:08 pm

    I love a pop of black and white in a room. It really adds and interesting touch.

Leave a Reply

