Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Brightness

September 6, 2010

This above all to thine own self be true — Shakespeare

I am a strong believer that our homes should reflect who we are. It may seem quite obvious that it should be decorated in a style that we like and should contain objects that we enjoy to look at, yet I think there’s more to it. And the fun thing is that the better we get to know ourselves, the more we can adjust our surroundings so they become more nurturing to who we really are.

One of the things I’ve learned about myself is that I crave light in a big way. I think my love for light is what makes me feel so attracted to white walls, there is just something about how the light bounces off white and makes everything feels brighter that feels so uplifting to me. Bold punches of color, too, make me smile because of the brightness they add.

As Summer is coming to an end, I am loving the cooler temperatures, the return of Fall fashion, finally putting our new comforter on the bed and snuggling up with hot tea and a book. However, the shortening days and the knowledge that the darkness of Winter is just around the corner make me want to hold on to Summer and its long, light-filled days.

So, for this post, I’ve rounded up some pictures images that are filled with this lightness. Even though I couldn’t imagine living with a mostly-white room (I just love color too much), these photos are really inspiring to me nonetheless.


I like the punch of color that the magenta chair adds. The contrast of the cathedral ceilings and the modern lines of the furniture makes this room really interesting.


Adding a big mirror reflects even more light into the room.


The flower lamp (I love it so!), the flowers on the headboard and the fuzzy pillow keep this room from feeling too stark. The food on the table doesn’t hurt either of course.


Lovely heart pillows make it look really cozy.


Love the baroque chandelier and headboard.

I hope your week is off to a good start!

XO

Images:
1. Liever
2. Unknown
3+4. VTWonen
5. Unknown

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 1:21 am

    Jadyn, the pictures are not showing up darn it. I don’t think it is my computer, I tried to pull it up via Google reader and Firefox and they don’t show. Hope I get to see them.

  2. September 7, 2010 4:06 am

    Love these white rooms! I think the turquoise looks great as a punch of colour. Every room needs something red in it, too, I’d say :)

  3. September 7, 2010 12:04 pm

    I love white rooms too. Light is priceless, particularly when you’re living up north where the sun slowly disappears . . too painful! I love the top one with the great rustic ceiling.

  4. September 7, 2010 3:28 pm

    These photos are so lovely! I’m like you, I love lots of light. And the energy of the colors and things we surround ourselves with rubs off on us easily! Which, is why it’s so important to consciously create our living spaces.

    Very nice post Jadyn!

  5. September 8, 2010 7:04 am

    These are so pretty. My house is full of jewel tones and bohemian decor because that’s what makes me comfortable, but I do keep my bedroom all whites because it really is soothing. And I redid my kitchen all white so that I could use it for a neutral backdrop for seasonal decor.- that’s a great part of white!
    have a happy day Jadyn, xo nat

  6. September 8, 2010 3:43 pm

    ah, great choices of white rooms to put up! love that ceiling! i don’t have any white rooms, b/c like you- i love color too much, but gosh, these are lovely!

Leave a Reply

