Skip to content

Lovely Monday

August 31, 2010

Today is one of those days where my brain just can’t seem to focus. It’s like a butterfly wanting to land on every flower distraction.

And speaking of butterflies…loveliness was brought into my day by way of a beautiful card from my sister.

She sent me this card from a company called Tree-Free Greetings.

Isn't it pretty?

Even the inside has a pretty pattern

The cool thing is that the butterfly comes off and is filled with seeds. It is meant to be buried whole and will re-emerge after a few weeks as an assortment of wild-flowers. Well, it won’t really re-emerge I guess – rather the paper will disintegrate and the seeds will sprout flowers (if all goes well), but you get the idea. I will definitely try it out, even though the thought makes me a little nervous since my abilities to grow something seem to be questionable lately!

I looked up the company’s website to see what they’re all about. They describe themselves to be “the first card company to aggressively work toward the use of 100% tree-less paper.” I think this is a great purpose to be aggressively working toward. Especially since many greeting cards can’t even be recycled because of the amount of inks that they contain! The tree-less greeting cards are printed with soy based inks, so recycling shouldn’t be an issue. And the fact that they’re stylish doesn’t hurt of course!

On a different note: August has come to an end, so this post marks the end of the August Break for me. It’s been enjoyable and I’ve written some posts that I wouldn’t normally have written because I was trying to stay away from too much writing. I realized I missed using words though, so I’m happy to return to formulating thoughts as well as a slightly more regular schedule!

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 5:18 pm

    Stopping by as I browse through the August Breakers, lovely blog! May have to stop by again sometime! ;)

  2. August 31, 2010 6:39 pm

    oh, yes! i love that cards. and butterflies are very much on my mind- i’m listening to the old heart album, dog and butterfly right now!

Leave a Reply

