Skip to content

Lovely Monday

August 23, 2010

Over the last week, I’ve found myself in the mood to organize. Tackling some boring but necessary tasks has seemed like a good way to pass the time while feeling sad. And in the meantime, my pile of paperwork is getting filed away – quite a nice feeling actually.

This past weekend has been a little interesting. We had a major power outage in part of our city. I was at work and the power outage meant I got to go home two hours early. I came home to this:

A hubby surrounded by candles, watching a movie on my laptop. Yup, we had no power at our house either.

In my organizing activities this week, I came across this quote while cleaning up my pieces of paper that I’ve scribbled on:

Permanence, perseverance, and persistence in spite of all obstacles, discouragements, and impossibilities.
It is this, that in all things distinguishes the strong soul from the weak.

— Thomas Carlyle

Bear with me in this leap of thought, but I was thinking about how sometimes in our life the metaphorical light goes out temporarily. All sorts of things, both good and bad, happen all the time that can easily throw us off course and make us feel like we (temporarily) lose sight of our center. And sometimes it’s not the big ones that are most likely to derail us, in my experience, it can be the drudgery of life and the temptation to be complacent that is most dangerous. Yet, being aware of what matters to you in life and continuing to make an effort to move toward is, is so important.

Not too sure where I am going with this, but as this month is the August Break, I’m allowing this to just sit for now.

Thank you, everyone who left a comment on my post last week, for all the kind words of comfort expressed in the comments on my post on Splinter. It really means a lot!

Susannah Conway wrote a thoughtful post over at Kind over Matter today about on-line friendships and connections, which when I read it made me nod in agreement. Yes, I am so happy to be part of this on-line community in my own small way and for every bit of connection that happens here. It is such a gift to be able to share some of my heart, to read what others are sharing and to be able to respond and be responded to.

Many warm loving thoughts ~

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 3:05 am

    Love to you too! Warm wishes and golden moments :)

  2. August 24, 2010 12:23 pm

    I love this thought! It’s hard to keep going day in and day out, but it’s what defines the amazing v. the amazing only when it’s convenient. I had a hard day the other day and a friend asked me why, but I couldn’t answer her. There was no said reason for the hard day, it was like the lights just went out and I had to flail in the darkness for a bit. . . .the next day, the lights were on again and all was well. Isn’t it just how life is? Thanks for posting.

  3. August 25, 2010 9:20 am

    the big candleabra thing by your husbands computer is so funny-

    nice and thoughtful post, jadyn!

Leave a Reply

