Skip to content

Splinter

August 17, 2010

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you may have seen a few pictures of a cute tabby cat pop up over time. Sadly, yesterday we had to say goodbye to him…

I came home from work last night, ready to do some relaxing and blogging. Unfortunately, the night took an unexpectedly heartbreaking turn when Ben went upstairs and found our cat Splinter lying motionless on the floor.

It is hard to wrap our hearts and minds around that fact that something that was so full of life not long before is suddenly gone…

We don’t know what happened and it will likely always remain a mystery. We wonder if he might have eaten something poisonous, but the truth is that we’ll probably never know. Splinter was with us for two and a half years and we were pretty darn lucky with such a great cat. Most of all, I want to celebrate the life he lived even though I am doing this with tears today.

Here are some of my favorite photos of him:

He always put a smile on our faces when we came across him unexpectedly somewhere in the house, curled up in unlikely places.

Like a pea in a pod.

He loved to keep us company.

Completely relaxed in Ben’s arms while Ben is engrossed in a magazine.

He was super patient with Halo, who can be boisterous in his expressions of love.

It took Kitty a year to accept Splinter’s presence, but once she did, they became best buds.

I know there’s a lot of cat bottom in this photo, but I thought it was rather funny how he slept for a while with his hind legs and bum dangling over the edge. Not a care in the world…

I was standing in the bathroom and heard this noise to my left, but ignored it. When I finally looked down, Splinter had managed to open the drawer by himself and climbed in…

We will miss his antics, his cuddles and his calming presence. Splinter taught me that it is always a good time to relax and that it often isn’t worth it getting worked up about things – even if it means the dog is sticking his nose up your bum several times, because eventually he’ll move on and you can go back to sleep…

Bye bye, dear Splinter.

XO

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Sis permalink
    August 18, 2010 1:50 am

    Love the pictures and memories! I’m sad with you and for you. Love you mucho..wish I could have saved you from this heartache…

  2. August 18, 2010 9:55 am

    I’m a silent reader of your blog but had to post and say how sorry I am for your loss. I can’t imagine the pain of this. My thoughts are with you.

  3. August 18, 2010 10:33 am

    Oh . . . I’m so sorry to hear you lost Splinter. It’s the worst feeling losing a pet. My heart and prayers are with you. Loves!

  4. August 18, 2010 6:21 pm

    aw Jadyn! I’m so sorry. I’m sad to hear this…hang in there. xo

  5. August 18, 2010 8:54 pm

    I don’t believe our pets ever really leave us. They wouldn’t. But it’s so hard nonetheless. I know exactly how you feel right now. Much love and love and love to you.

  6. August 19, 2010 4:26 pm

    oh dear darling, I am so very sorry for your loss.

  7. August 23, 2010 11:59 am

    i am so sorry to hear about Splinter. he looks and sounds like he was such a sweet cat and i’m so glad you had him and he had your for the time…

  8. August 25, 2010 12:54 am

    Awwwww, I am so sorry to hear about your cat, Splinter. It seems that the time you spend is never long enough with pets that you adore who bring so much joy. I love the pictures you posted and hearing about his antics – what a special cat!

    Many hugs to you – I am so sorry for you loss,
    xoxo
    Kristen

  9. August 27, 2010 11:15 pm

    I’m so sad for you…animals just wrap themselves around our hearts and sometimes it’s hard to breath because we love them so much.

    I’m sorry you lost your sweet cat. He looks like my Fletcher who is practically my shadow-the most faithful, dog-like cat you’d ever know.

    Here’s a {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

