Skip to content

Lovely Monday

July 20, 2010

…where I try to figure out the common denominators of the styles that attract my eye. I love my house, but am longing to make it more and more our home. The problem is that I like so many different styles! I am hoping that collecting images will help me get a clearer idea of what I where I want to go.

I rented the movie The Secret Life of Bees a while ago. It is such a good movie and I truly enjoyed it, I even watched the extras. There was a section about the house and how they had decorated it. It was so great to see all the details and the love that went into getting the house just right. It is one of the things that made me really think about my home.

The thing that really stood out to me in the movie was the love of the women and the theme of redemption. Queen Latifah in that movie is who I want to be when I grow up. Go watch it if you don’t know what I am talking about!
The house in the movie is really a reflection of the women who live in it, and it’s such a sanctuary for those who enter it.

The thing is that I really am not that interested in home decor as a way to “keep up with the Joneses” or to show off good taste. And I am actually quite easily happy with whatever I have around me. But, I am a visual person and I do love the idea of a home reflecting its owners personalities and stories. And I love the idea of putting love into the details of it and the idea for people to come in and feeling at home.

I tried to find some images of the movie, but couldn’t find any of the inside. So, I looked for some that capture some of that Southern style, which is where the movie is situated. It may not be my style, but I do love the welcoming vibe of it. It is a good reminder of the feel I’d like my house to have. I hope you enjoy.

The house in the movie is painted Pepto Bismal pink, there is just something so cheerful about it.

The character May in the movie feels any suffering in those around her very keenly and this wall is where she puts pieces of paper with writing on them in between the stones, sort of like a wailing wall. I kind of love this idea.

Not from the movie, but the kitchen in the movie is yellow like this one. How nice would it be to wander in there and have tea in the morning? I think I would start every day with a smile on my face.

This is a bathroom, but it reminds me a bit of the living room in the movie. If I am correct, I believe the color on the wall was similar.

One of the things that stood out to me in the way the living room was decorated were the doilies draped over the back of the sofas. Apparently, this was a typical thing to do in the South in the sixties. Again, this may not be something I’d do, but I did think it was a lovely detail. I do love this doily shaped rug:

I hope your week is off to a good start!

XO

Credits:
image 1: Found on Wikipedia
image 2+3: Sue Monk Kidd
image 4+5: unkown
image 6: Fruitful Fusion

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 10:10 pm

    i read the book when it first came out, but haven’t seen the movie! now i want to! and the story is so fuzzy to me, it’d be almost brand new to me by now! thanks for the recommendation!

  2. July 26, 2010 9:18 am

    Have you ever read the book? It’s actually my favorite! It is so powerful and so wonderfully written.

Leave a Reply

