Skip to content

Lovely Monday

July 12, 2010

…where I try to figure out the common denominators of the styles that attract my eye. I love my house, but am longing to make it more and more our home. The problem is that I like so many different styles! I am hoping that collecting images will help me get a clearer idea of what I where I want to go.

I am a romantic at heart. Yet, there is a part of me that is not; part of me is quite pragmatic and squirms at the idea of anything overly girly or mushy. However, let’s face it: I love flowers and hearts. And that’s the romantic in me.

I’ve been thinking of ways to incorporate this in my home. It’s these kinds of dilemmas that are the reason that I have a bit of a hard time making decisions when it comes to home decorating – and I guess the reason I started doing these posts in the first place…

Dutch shelter magazine VTWonen is quickly becoming one of my favorite sources of inspiration, as I really enjoy the way they put things together. The way I would describe it, is that there is a sense of humor and playfulness mixed in. I like that.

Hearts and flowers together! Yet, there is a simplicity about it that keeps it balanced.

I love the single heart on the wall and the painted gray brick wall. Also, the unusual bench is pretty cool.

Gorgeous, vibrant colors. The bright blue is probably too much for me, but I like the large flower canvas a lot. I like the large negative space in it – I think it makes it very calming.

The flowers were cut out of wallpaper and added onto the cupboard with decoupage. I like the combination of colors and the size of the flowers – they’re big and not subtle yet the colors are quite natural and make it not too overpowering.

And of course, there are more traditional ways of adding an accent to your home, like throw pillows, lamp shades, etc. I really love Liberty of London prints and I think a pillow like this would go with a wide range of styles:

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO

Images:
1-4 VTWonen
5 Target

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 8:12 am

    These posts are great. I love the whimsical aspect of all the photo’s you chose. I have a hard time too balancing feminine and masculine elements as well. And bold/playful vs. serious/serene. It is a little fun trying to though!

  2. July 13, 2010 7:36 pm

    oh, those are some sweet ones. yes, i love hearts and flowers too. maybe they let me think i’m still just a girl!

Leave a Reply

