Skip to content

Interview with Heidi from To Be Luminous

July 7, 2010

Today, I’m really excited to introduce Heidi Slovacek from To Be Luminous. I first read about Heidi on the blog Makeunder My Life, which is all about designing a life with intention. I was intrigued by Heidi’s story who is a life coach and was living in Prague at that time. After two years of living in Prague, she now has taken on a new challenge and recently moved back to Florida to start a Masters program. Her blog is a great place to visit for inspiration and nuggets of wisdom.

If you’re looking to make a change in your life or are thinking about trying life coaching for any other reason, Heidi has an amazing sale going at the moment. For a six week package, you only pay $250 if the first session is booked before this Friday. You can find full details over on her blog To Be Luminous.

After connecting a bit through our blogs and a few e-mails back and forth, I asked Heidi if I could ask her some questions with the purpose of posting them on this little blog. She graciously agreed and even while in the middle of her transatlantic move was quick to respond to the questions I sent her. I love asking questions, because getting a bit deeper into someone’s experiences and motivations is such a great way to connect and also to learn more about life. I loved reading Heidi’s responses, she was really open and shared some great nuggets of wisdom. I hope you enjoy:

What breaks you heart? What gives you hope/joy?

My biggest heart break is that I haven’t had the chance to start my family yet. I know I’m young at 33, but I had always wanted to be married with a family younger (around 25 or 26). Sometimes I see beautiful young families and I just can’t wait to have one of my own. I feel supremely blessed to love what I do and to have found a meaningful career. Life is meant to be lived for what it is and everything beautiful it has to offer NOW and not later.

Life gives me joy and having big beautiful dreams for the future help provide me with hope. I love my business and watching my coaching practice grow. I love daydreaming about a life with a husband and kids around me too. I love planning my next trip to explore and when I get frustrated or discouraged, I love to start keeping track of the little details in life that make it beautiful right then and there!

What are you doing about it?

Staying focused and centered on the beauties of life both fuels my dreams and helps give me strength to coach and help others. I journal every morning and dump everything in my brain onto the page. It helps me sort and sift through the sludge that builds up.
I also incorporate spiritual and inspiring studies. I firmly believe that we are what we put into ourselves and I need as much inspiration and goodness as I can get my hands on! Having this morning routine helps keep me grounded even during difficult times.

How did you get started doing this?

I stumbled across coaching during my “quarter life crisis”. Like I mentioned above, I always thought I’d be married and then I wasn’t and I was working in medical sales making great money but feeling empty and like my work wasn’t contributing to anything other than my bank account. I was doing my journaling and studies with a passionate intensity and started just day dreaming about my dream world. I created in my mind a job that I called a “happiness guru.” As a happiness guru I would help people dig deep and attain their dreams and learn to live life with joy. I told my roommate about it and then she came home with a magazine article detailing the role of a life coach. I knew I had found a career. As I’ve grown in my career over the last four years I’ve realized a desire to work as a therapist as well. As a coach there are still many people I’m not qualified to help and I’m excited to dig even deeper once I finish my Master’s degree.

How did you come up with the name To be Luminous? What is the philosophy behind it?

I knew I wanted my company to support women glowing and luminous just felt like the perfect word. The ideas is that true beauty comes from authenticity and being true to yourself all the way to your core. I believe that beauty comes from deep within and connecting to it can make you uniquely beautiful, vibrant and open to life.

What are you doing to take care of yourself and to make sure your work is personally sustainable?

I put on my own oxygen mask first. It’s why I start the day off with my journaling and studies. I also exercise and am changing the way that I eat. I want to have purer energy and motivation throughout the day. As a full-time coach, a full-time grad student and my volunteer work and internships, I’ll be a very busy, busy woman.

Do you have any advice for someone who dreams of doing what you’re doing?

Each coach offers something unique and so I’d encourage anyone wanting to coach to find out what they have to offer. What message do they feel compelled to share? Finding this out sooner than later can help with even the most practical parts of the business- like finding a niche and where to market their services. But it also connects the coach to their message. You don’t want to sound like everyone else and that voice is what will get you through the rough patches.

What are your future plans/dreams?

After living in Europe for almost two years, I’ve moved home to complete my degree and to dig some roots. I’d like to see my business keep great individual clients, but also shift to in-person workshops. I love teaching and speaking more than anything! I’m excited to develop those venues. I’m also excited to spend time with loved ones and to explore areas close to home. Travels in Europe filled me with a sense of adventure that I intend to apply to life here. It’s an exciting time of transition and I feel myself relating so closely to my clients.

Thanks so much Heidi for sharing some of your heart, your experiences and your wisdom!

Where to find Heidi:
Blog: To Be Luminous
Twitter: coachheidilyn

If you’re interested in her coaching services at a discounted price, be sure to connect with her before Friday!

XO

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 8:59 am

    great interview-
    and i have to say, i loved the question “what breaks your heart” that’s a good one i don’t think i’ve heard before or ever been asked myself!

  2. July 10, 2010 2:16 pm

    Hi Jadyn. I’ve just clicked over from Heidi at To Be Luminous. I love your blog and have added it to my favs. I love to share good blogs with my friends and family and hope they click through to visit you. I also loved your angel picture and shared it on my blog. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

