Skip to content

End of Week Thoughts on Buckling Down and Practicing Self-Care

July 3, 2010

I feel like it has taken me all day to write this post, even though this is the first time I’m actually sitting down and starting to type.

This past week, overwhelm and fatigue have started to get to me quite a bit. Part of this was getting called into work on my day off. And the continuing Biology class – one more week after today!!! Not that I’m excited or anything…

So, what’s been on my mind, has once again been just how to take care of myself while waking up tired every day and trying to get my brain to retain some information about things like the two major hormones of the adrenal cortex and their functions. I love love learning, but I’ll be glad when this particular class is done.

So here are some of the things I’ve done over the past week in an effort to keep my sanity intact and keep myself motivated for the homestretch of this course. Maybe it inspires you to do something extra nice for yourself as well.

– take a bath after work to wind down, which just happened to be at 1am, and eating leftover salad while bathing. Salad is great comfort food if you ask me. What can I say? My momma raised me well.
– take a photo every day
– do a brain dump on paper, just writing down everything that is floating around as to do’s
Then assigning a category to each to do: Today, This Week, Later. It really helps to see what’s important now and what can wait, but also gives the reassuring feeling that I won’t just forget what I want to accomplish on a more long-term basis.
– Walk my dog and do an inner happy dance at the beauty of summer and how much I love our neighborhood, the trees, the grass, the lovely front yards.
– Go across the street to pick raspberries in our neighbor’s yard who have a sign on their front yard that says: Raspberries, u pick, for free. It’s funny because I’ve seen this sign for a long time, but never actually went over. I was so glad I did today.
– Talk to my sister on Skype. Nothing is better than sharing experiences with someone you’re close to.
– Make a jug of iced tea.
– Write a letter to our sponsor child in Thailand.

It’s sort of an eclectic list, but these really are some of the things that have helped me feel better. I think we all have things that are particular to who we are that do this for us. I’d love to hear some of yours if you’d like to share.

XO

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 7:48 am

    great list! and i LOVE that your neighbor has that pick-for-free sign in there yard and i LOVE that you did it!
    hope you are feeling rejuvenated! have a great Sunday.
    xo nat

  2. Little Sis permalink
    July 6, 2010 12:30 am

    I love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. July 6, 2010 4:22 pm

    i’m a bather too! you eat salad in there? that is hiliarious! i take water and sometimes crackers. :)

  4. Farrah Satre permalink
    May 17, 2012 3:00 am

    Great information :)

Leave a Reply

