Skip to content

Lovely Monday

June 28, 2010

…where I try to figure out the common denominators of the styles that attract my eye. I love my house, but am longing to make it more and more our home. The problem is that I like so many different styles! I am hoping that collecting images will help me get a clearer idea of what I where I want to go.

I am starting to notice some of the things that definitely speak to me – white walls, splashes of color, playful details, a mix of clean lines and old or distressed pieces. Today, I have the dining room on my mind. This is definitely the space in my house where I spend most of my time. It is where I study, eat, blog, talk on Skype, do crafts – all the important stuff. I love it because it is so central in our house and because of the light coming in through the windows.

My dreams for our dining room include white walls – which I will be working on soon. Also, I want to paint our table and chairs.

Here’s some of my inspiration:

Featured in a previous post, I couldn’t not include this. I love everything about it.

I love the mixture of white and black. The light fixture above the table adds visual interest with its unusual shape and contrasting color against the white.


Source (above 3 images): Living Etc

Our table is round as well and our chairs are a lot like these. I have been toying with the idea of painting them in two colors. I wonder if Ben would go for pink?


Source: Ariadne at Home

I love the simplicity of this, with the added texture of the linen table cloth.


Source: Gemma Commas

I really love more baroque elements too, like the chairs in these above two images.

Could not resist. I am just a sucker for the Union Jack.

Love the red table, the wall paper and the letter on the wall.

So lovely, the distressed wooden walls are great.

Love the gray chairs and that they’re all different.


Source (above 6 images): VTWonen

And whimsical details like this are just plain fun – I think. It’s probably not for everyone…What do you think?

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 8:30 am

    Those mismatched gray chairs with that crisp white table are the bees knees. I want to sit down for a nice strawberries and pancake breakfast in that room.

  2. July 1, 2010 4:11 pm

    the mainly white with just a splash of color is so nice!
    collecting photos for inspirations when you’re looking to re-decorate is such a good idea

Trackbacks

  1. Our Dining Room « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

