Skip to content

High Waisted Skirt Experiment

June 22, 2010

Is anything more exciting than getting a package full of goodies in the mail? My sister sent me a birthday present – in adherence to our family habit, it arrived a few weeks after the fact. I kind of love this, though, because it makes me feel like my birthday lasts a lot longer than it actually does.

So, what was in it, you ask? Well, let me show you. In the order of how I noticed it:

I love the card with Amelia Earhart on it. Reminds me I still want to rent the movie.

Those chocolates are so cute. I love lavender, wonder how it will taste? With chocolate nonetheless. Interesting. Wonder if they’re actually soothing like the box says?

Love the owl necklace.

And there’s also ginger candy and chocolate-coated ginger pieces! Yum, I love ginger. And a skirt! A flouncy skirt. High waisted. I love it!

I wasn’t sure how to wear it though. I love high waisted skirts on others, but never felt I could pull it off, because I’m fairly short and kind of challenged when it comes to putting things together. My sister wrote in the card that when she saw the skirt, she thought: “J can pull this off sooo well.” I had to assume she wasn’t being sarcastic – I mean, obviously she had bought it for me, so that in itself was a vote of confidence. So I tried it on right away.

Here’s what I came up with:

Simple gray tank top. Golden belt.

A slightly more blouse-y top. No belt. A little bit more casual I thought.

Poor Halo was circling me the whole time I was doing this, no doubt wondering what the heck I was up to.

It actually was really fun to have a new piece of clothing to play with. Thank goodness for sisters who send you stuff that push you out of your comfort zone a bit. Oh, and the lavender chocolates? Really are soothing.

XO

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 1:47 am

    It’s a perfect birthday package. The skirt looks amazing!

  2. ruudilsesmit permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:19 pm

    mooi rokje Jedid, en je hebt ook de wijze uil gekregen

  3. Jill permalink
    June 23, 2010 9:46 pm

    Jadyn – *love* the owl necklace! Lucky you – it has great colors :)

  4. June 24, 2010 8:13 am

    That skirt looks great! I really love it with the belt. And what a cute little owlie… very unusual! He looks like he’d cheer up anyone you run into while wearing him :)

  5. June 24, 2010 9:30 pm

    The skirt is awesome…with and without the belt. What a great sister you have to send you such a fabulous goodie bag. Enjoy
    Shishi

  6. June 25, 2010 3:16 pm

    your dog seems to really like the second shirt best with it! :)

    yes, you definitely can pull it off! and the owl necklace is great-
    hey it was my birthday june 24th- yesterday- is that when yours was?
    happy bday!!

  7. June 25, 2010 3:17 pm

    oh wait, no, just re-read the beginning of the post, trying to find your bdate. weeks ago. well, yay for your sister for stretching it out for you!!

  8. June 29, 2010 5:47 am

    You look great in that skirt!

Leave a Reply

