Skip to content

6 Years, Baby

June 18, 2010

The other day, I found an old Valentine’s card that I wrote to my husband. The year is 2000, the last line of the card (which really is a page ripped out of a fashion magazine with a lined page pasted on the back of it) reads like this: “I’m just very happy that I met you (almost 5 months ago) and I look forward to spending the rest of my life with you.”
I wrote this at the ripe old age of 17.

Today is more than 10 years later and exactly 6 years into our marriage. It makes me think again about that intuition thing. You see, if I were to see any 17-year-old around me write those words to her boyfriend of 5 months, I would be a little concerned. Understandably, a lot of the people who cared about were when we got so serious about our relationship right away. But sometimes you just know. Even when you’re 17 years young.

In the words that we used in our wedding invitation:

…for love is as strong as death,
its jealousy unyielding as the grave.
It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame.
Many waters cannot quench love;
rivers cannot wash it away.

Song of Songs 8:6-7

I love you-
I am at rest with you-
I have come home.

Dorothy L. Sayers

6 Years later, this is still so very true.

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Sis permalink
    June 19, 2010 10:53 am

    Love it, my sweet sis:) wishing you and Ben many many happy loving fun and adventurous years!!! Moewah!!

  2. June 19, 2010 12:27 pm

    Happy, happy Anniversary to you, too! And well done on six years! It’s amazing to think back to when you first met, and those early days of dating… you clearly knew it was right, right from the start. I love your dress in these photos… I gather it’s from your wedding? I remember you hinting that you got married in red.

    But yes, June 18th is definitely the best day of the year for a wedding… I’m glad you agree :)

  3. June 20, 2010 6:47 pm

    Congrats! My husband and I also started dating when we were 16 going on 17. It is incredible to be able to go through most of your life with the one you love. I never take it for granted. It is a rare and beautiful thing. Best wishes from afar.

Leave a Reply

