Skip to content

Paris Crepes

June 11, 2010

Last week, my friend (and sister-in-law) Dina and I went to a bistro called Paris Crepes on Queen Street in Niagara Falls. It was the second time that week that I went there and that is because the crepes are to die for!

Niagara Falls is may not the classiest city, but at least now I know that there are great crepes to be had in this place.

This sparked another thought and that is that I really want to embrace where I am in the physical sense. I feel like I’m always trying to embrace where I am in a more abstract sense – what I’m learning right now, what decisions I’m facing. And I’ve had a bit of a love/hate relationship with Niagara Falls since I got here. I’ve already professed my love of Amsterdam here on this blog and a lot of the things that I enjoy so much about Amsterdam are non-existent here. There are few old buildings with beautiful details, there are not many people in the streets, no street musicians or hustle and bustle, not many art galleries and not much fashion, not many bikes…
A good number of Niagara Falls people have professed their surprise at my decision to move here, to buy a house here. “Why here?” they ask with bewilderment. Well, the answer is perhaps a bit complicated. But suffice it for now to say that this is where I feel deeply at peace for now, and that there are things that I love here. I do not want to look at what I don’t have here, but instead enjoy what I do have. Crepes are a good place to start, non?

Also, this little piece of graffiti found on a building across from Paris Crepes.

XO

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 12:38 am

    I love this! I think it’s so important to explore and love where ever we are in life and in the moment. Things might be a surprise or a disappointment, but there is just about always something to love. Crepes are a wonderful place to start.

  2. Flaviana permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:44 am

    Jadyn
    I think I couldn’t live anywhere but Europe.. but.. it’s good to have a broader vision and if you live peacefully there then let be it!
    Those (Yummy!!!) crepes can be one of the reasons???
    It’s early morning here and I could do with one of those:-))
    Hugs from me
    Flaviana

  3. francina permalink
    June 11, 2010 2:08 am

    Jadyn dear,
    crepes are a wonderful place to start, and If you make a mean cappuccino you are always 2 steps ahead of many people in the world :-)

  4. June 13, 2010 3:42 pm

    i STILL miss “the magic pan” which was a crepe restaurant in my hometown when i was a kid. there’s nothing like it.

    what a positive graffiti message, huh?! :)

  5. June 14, 2010 4:09 pm

    I remmber one summer in France we had crepes nearly every day with as a dessert bananas with choclate sauce … here we eat crepes at the Noordermarkt yummie ;)

  6. June 14, 2010 4:10 pm

    I remember one summer in France we had crepes nearly every day with as a dessert bananas with choclate sauce … here we eat crepes at the Noordermarkt yummie ;)

Leave a Reply

