Skip to content

Chicken Soup From Scratch

June 9, 2010

I can be a bit of an all-or-nothing type of cook.

Because Ben and I often work on opposite shifts – him during the day whereas I mostly work at night – days can go by where I don’t cook a single meal. We just fend for ourselves when eating by ourselves at home or at work. And I guess that’s fine…

But then there are those times when I roast a chicken, make chicken stock out of the bones the next day and chicken soup with the resulting stock.

To me, having a big pot of something or other cooking on the stove is one of the most comforting, satisfying things in life.

I haven’t actually made chicken soup very often, but when I came across this recipe by DustyLu on her wonderfully inspiring blog, it looked easy enough. And if you go visit DustyLu’s blog, make sure to check out her giveaway of a signed copy of one of Rachel Ashwell‘s ( queen of shabby chic) books!

So, here is what I did for the chicken stock:

After eating all the meat, I just put all the bones in a big pot and covered with water. After that, I added:

5 sticks of celery, roughly chopped
2 onions, roughly chopped
2 carrots, roughly chopped
3 bay leaves
5 sprigs of thyme (you can also add rosemary and parsley, but I just happened to have thyme around and none of the others)
5 whole black peppercorns

I left this to simmer on the stove for 3-4 hours and passed the whole lot through a sieve when finished.
This will keep in the fridge for about 4 days and 2-3 months in the freezer.

Easy peasy, right?

So, on to the soup, which I made another day. I’d probably feel like this was an impossibly long process if I made it all the same day, but doing it on two different days made it easy.

Chop up:

3 carrots
3 celery sticks
1 onion

Sauté the whole lot in some olive oil, and add the chicken stock as well as two frozen chicken breasts.

Bring to the boil and cook for half an hour, then add some soup noodles and cook for another 10.

Remove the chicken breasts and cut into small pieces.

And there you have it, flavorful and nourishing chicken soup!

Mmmm…

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 8:22 pm

    That really looks so yummy :) I have to admit, I am part Dutch – but know nothing about my heritage… so I am secretly hoping you will one day post a recipe or two from “home”.

  2. June 10, 2010 12:56 am

    Yum! I could use some of that right now, want to send some over? lol Thank you for the sweet comment on my blog xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Delicieux

Leave a Reply

