Skip to content

Home Decorating

June 3, 2010

I’ve heard Oprah say that your twenties are all about finding out who you are. Now, she is probably not the only person saying this, but the first time this idea stuck with me was when I heard it from her. You might remember the influence Oprah has on my life, which got me cooking with weeds – and I don’t even watch TV! Although there was a time when I watched the Oprah show every day… Either way, I am finding that my twenties are indeed a lot about finding out who I am. In my teens, my sense of identity felt like it was shifting all the time. I was figuring out who I was, sure, but there was too much turmoil inside me to really get an idea of the ‘real’ me. Yet, it is over the last few years that I’m starting to feel like I get more of a grip on who I really am. That is not to discount the fact that this is a life long process, but now that I’m getting into my late twenties this is just something I realized while looking back over the last 8 years.

Now, in a leap of thought, this brings me to home decorating. I actually think about this a lot. I love imagining different colors for my house and thinking about different ideas. I enjoy reading books, magazines, and perusing blogs having to do with home decor. Okay, so this might be a bit closer to an obsession… Yet, I have a hard time making up my mind about many decisions having to do with my home. I wish I could just love one style, but my love for good design is quite all-encompassing, if not all over the place.

I love this

Image via Dreamy Whites. I love the laid-back vibe, the layered look and the subtle use of color.

I also love this

Image via Dutch home decorating mag VTWonen. I love the clean lines, the bright pop of color and the whimsical piece of art in the background.

The funny thing is that some of the colors in these two images are similar, but the overall style is quite different… What is a girl to do?

I actually have a very relaxed approach to decorating my house and let it just get together step by step, I like to think of it as an organic process. And, um, the fact that we’re on a budget does play a part in this as well. But lately I’ve been longing to pull it all together just a bit more. The problem is that I have trouble making decisions because I feel like I do want to have an idea of the sort of direction I want to take it in before making decision. I just don’t really know what that is. Yes, maybe I take this all too seriously, but I just love to think about this. So, I will be posting some of the images that inspire me over the next few weeks and maybe it will help met get a better idea of who I am in this area of my life.

I do know that my surroundings affect me a lot. Ever since we bought our house last year, life has felt different for me and I am more at peace. But now I am itching to make it more of a home, to give expression to that longing inside me. And I can’t wait to see how that will affect my life, because as Oprah likes to say what I know for sure is that changing your space can change your life. Really, it may sound funny but I do believe this to be true.

XO

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 9:03 am

    Great photos! I love the chandeliers, and that bright blue dresser. I really know what you mean about home decorating angst… it’s so hard to try to work out a ‘style’ when you like so many different things! I want to live in a minimalist Scandinavian all-in-white home, a colourful flea-market-find quilted-kind-of home, a distressed-wood and antiques home, and of course, an IKEA catalogue home!

    I read somewhere, though, that as long as you choose things and colours you love, they’ll find a way to work together.

  2. June 4, 2010 2:30 pm

    Just to say your 30’s will be pretty great too, it wasn’t until I was in my 30’s that I felt like I fitted into my own skin and if you’re starting to feel good in your late 20’s it will only continue and grow into your 30’s :)

    Love your photos, looking forward to seeing more of your design ideas :)

  3. June 4, 2010 2:58 pm

    Just found your site. It is now one of my favorites. The images above are so dreamy. I want to live in them. I am an Oprah fan too.

  4. June 4, 2010 5:26 pm

    I don’t think I really found out who I was until my late 30s – you might say it took me long enough! Now I’m 40 I feel older for the first time, like I’m on a downward slope. Make the most of your 20s I say… they seem an awful long time ago now. Gosh I sound like some sage old woman…. Noooooo!

  5. June 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    wat een heerlijk verhaal, ik herken mijzelf er helemaal in ;) Leuk ook die foto van Maria’s blog en van mijn favoriete magazine (vt wonen) Zelf worstel ik ook altijd met beide dingen, aan de ene kant een beethe shabby en toch Heel! vt wonen verantwoord ;)) dus een allergaartje dat zich langzaam steeds beter vormt tot mijn eigen plek!

Leave a Reply

