Skip to content

Cooking with Weeds

June 1, 2010

We had a bit of a wilderness going on in our backyard for a little while. While researching ideas of getting rid of dandelions in the yard, I came across the idea to embrace the presence of dandelions as they are healthy for the lawn and also healthy eat. Now, while I’m open to the idea of embracing dandelions in my lawn, I found the idea of eating them a little too hippy-dippy for my liking…

But then I read the Oprah magazine and it was talking about how healthy weeds are and it gave a recipe for dandelion greens. Well…if the Oprah magazine says it, complete with a beautiful, glam shot of weeds, well… then maybe I could give it a go.

So I asked Ben what he thought of the idea:

Honey, I was reading the O magazine (Had to throw that in there to legitimize the idea) and it was talking about how healthy weeds are. You know…we have a LOT of dandelions in the backyard. What do you think, shall I try it…?

His answer:

Um, maybe…

Since it wasn’t a no, I figured we were good to go.

So, I washed the dandelions, and cut them into 1 inch pieces. I cooked them in a big pot of water for about 10 minutes. Then, I sauteed them in olive oil with some garlic and red pepper flakes and finished it off with salt and a dash of white balsamic vinegar.

The photo is a bit fuzzy, but you get the idea:

Just like any greens, what looks like a lot at the beginning cooks down to not much at all. But there's a lot of flavor and nutrition here!

It actually was really nice. They’re just a touch bitter, which adds a nice bite to it. Ben enjoyed them too!

Am I the only one who considers eating dandelion greens from your own backyard adventurous cooking? I mean, I know you can buy them at the grocery store and all, but they’re a weed, and I’d just never considered eating them before. However, knowing how healthy and tasty they are, I will eat them again. Especially when I can get them for free in my own backyard.

XO

4 Comments leave one →
  1. francina permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:33 am

    It looks delicious!!! Next weekend we will be at my parents’ house and I will try it… and if Oprah says it works, IT WORKS :-)

  2. Flaviana permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:42 am

    Seriously ? weeds?? oh well, never thought about actually eating them .. don’t think I’m too eager to try ;-)
    They look yummy in your picture though!
    xx Flaviana

  3. June 3, 2010 8:07 pm

    Huh… never thought about cooking with weeds.

  4. June 4, 2010 12:36 pm

    What a lovely blog! My husband likes to eat from the garden too and sometimes he wants to eat it unwashed and while still out hiking, usually along the Cornish coast path. While I am not quite as confident when spontaneously sampling bite size bits from nature’s garden, I will usually have a nibble or two.

    His favorite weed to cook at home is nettle soup.

Leave a Reply

