Skip to content

Friday Thoughts on Being Grateful

May 29, 2010

(Click on image for source)

My sister asked me earlier today why I hadn’t written my Friday Thoughts post yet…Geez, the pressure! Haha, it made me smile though. It is nice to know that someone is waiting for what I’m writing, even if it is my sister who is of course slightly biased toward anything I do! It brings me joy to share. While writing is something I do for the act itself, it’s the whole thing of interchange in this blogosphere that got me started doing this in the first place.

So…for anyone that’s reading this, know that I appreciate you.

Tiffany (my sister) then went on to suggest a video to use for this post. And it was an excellent suggestion – certainly in line with something that had been on my mind a lot this week.

Unfortunately, I’m not able to embed videos on this blog as of yet, so I’ll have to provide the link:

Nick Vujicic Video

You may have seen it before – I had. But watching it again, it touched me just as much as the first time. It’s a short video of Nick Vujicic speaking. He was born without arms and legs, yet manages to live his life more fully than many. He travels around as an inspirational speaker and his passion for life and people are so palpable in every word he speaks. Here are some of the lines from the video, in which he is speaking to an auditorium full of captivated teenagers:

It’s a lie to think that you’re not good enough. It’s a lie to think that you’re not worth anything.

It is scary to know how many girls have eating disorders. It’s scary to know how many people are angry because of their home situations (…) It is scary to know how many people feel that they’re not worth anything.

I want every girl in here to know that you are beautiful…you are gorgeous, just the way you are…

(pause)

And to the guys: You da man.

It just touches me deeply to see the faces of the girls listening. It’s so evident in their faces that they have a deep hunger for this kind of affirmation, some have tears streaming down their faces.

Afterward, the teens line up to hug the man who cannot hug them back but whose words have touched them on a much deeper level than most hugs will ever go.

And the thing is, that we all need to hear these kind of words at times. I know there are times when I do…

We need to see these examples of the power of attitude. This guys was born without limbs. He would have good reason to complain. Yet, he has taken his disability and has turned it around as a way to give others hope.

It puts my life into perspective. It can be easy to be for me to be ‘in my head’ a lot and think about the things I need or want to accomplish, and worry about small things. People like Nick Vujicic remind me that I really have all I need. His message reminds me of what matters in life. It reminds me to be grateful.

And we all need to hear this deep truth, spoken with authentic conviction: You are loved. You are good enough. You are beautiful the way you are.

Because once we start to believe this, it changes our lives.

I am going to watch this video every day for the rest of this week and I’m going to let its message sink in. I’ll let you know next week what thoughts come up with that!

For now, I just want to repeat Nick Vujicic’s words again to you:

You are beautiful…you are gorgeous, just the way you are…

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 8:33 am

    thanks for sharing this…I love your inspiring posts!
    have a fantastic weekend my friend! xo natalea

  2. June 1, 2010 3:28 pm

    I hadn’t seen this video, beautiful words, definitely worth remembering when we are feeling low!

  3. June 1, 2010 4:29 pm

    Hi Jadyn,
    What a beautiful post!!!! Thanks for sharing such a positive message. It definitely gave me a lot to think about.

    -Kristen

    PS
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your pics of the Netherlands. I’ve never been but definitely would like to go there someday.

Leave a Reply

