Skip to content

Amsterdam Through My Eyes

May 26, 2010
tags:

It’s hard to believe that two weeks have gone by since I got home from Holland! I still had a collection of photos taken on wanderings through Amsterdam, which I wanted to share!
I took so many pictures and it was hard to narrow it down so I wouldn’t end up with too long of a post!

Being in Amsterdam, I loved just walking around and taking in the houses, the canals, the details on the buildings – all the things that you start to take for granted when you live somewhere but that I got a chance to see with fresh eyes.


Contrast of beatiful old building against new building in the background


At the top of the image you see a hook, which is attached to the window I was looking out of. Old buildings have these hooks to hoist furniture upstairs with, since the stairs are too narrow to carry big things up!






One of the great memories from the trip, eating Belgian Fries with my dad!


I love red doors


There are many houseboats in the canals


Cool sculptures



It's all in the details




Playing chess in the street



These are kind of funny, they're public toilets just for men


The green sign in the front says 'coffeeshop'. Don't make the mistake of going in there thinking you can order a cup of coffee, coffeeshops are for buying and smoking pot!


Pointy endings


Window treatment made by Dutch designer Tord Boontje, who also designed a lamp I adore.


Quintessentially Amsterdam: Amsterdams Paaltje.

Also, I did some shopping of course. I had a lot of fun shopping for Natalea, the winner of my giveaway! She sent me an e-mail yesterday that she received the package, so now the coast is clear for me to post the pictures of what I got her:

1. When I was little, we all had little books that we passed around to friends and family to write little poems/verses in. It is customary to decorate the poem with pictures like these. I wasn’t sure if this is customary in North America as well, but these nostalgic pictures are still very cute I thought!
2. A Dutch home decorating magazine.
3. A copper colored heart. I love hearts and I kept seeing hearts to hang up in your home in home decor stores, so I made sure I added one to the package.
4. A made in Holland tea towel
5. Cute gift tags

I sent it off wrapped like this:

While shopping, I tried to keep in mind what I know about Natalea from reading her beautiful blog Kandeland. She wrote a very sweet post about receiving my package, which you can find here.

Thanks everyone who participated in the giveaway! I am so glad you liked what I got you, Natalea!

So this wraps up my Amsterdam posts!

XO

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 6:12 pm

    love seeing Amsterdam through your eyes, big sis! love you and miss you!!! moewah!

  2. May 26, 2010 6:13 pm

    Oh, yes, there are those Belgian fries I’ve been hoping to see! It looks like a great trip! And what fabulous wrapping paper on the pressie… nevermind all the goodies inside!

  3. May 27, 2010 3:34 am

    Dear Jadyn
    I sooo loved your post!! I’ve been in Amsterdam last spring and cherished every minute.. your photos are just gorgeous and reminded me of some really happy moments.
    Well done !!
    xx Flaviana
    P.S. Thanks so much for your comment!! I appreciated your support. I’ve added you to my blogroll so I don’t miss any of your posts not to mention the giveaways (this one was lovely!!!)

  4. May 27, 2010 12:41 pm

    Hey Jedid,

    Echt mooie foto’s van Amsterdam. Je maakt heel mooie foto’s. Mooi ‘uitgeknipt’ uit de realiteit, mooie lichtval, mooie details en compositie.

    Liefs Mam

  5. May 27, 2010 5:33 pm

    Heyyyy
    Wat leuk om je berichtje op mijn post bij Sarah At A beach Cottage te lezen. Ik wist helemaal niet dat jij ook een blog had, ik heb t opgeslagen en ga nog eens terug komen om uitgebreid rond te kijken en te lezen.. nu moet ik eerst maar eens naar bed want nog een dagje werken morgen vroeg
    groetjes uit Amsterdam, desiree

  6. June 1, 2010 3:27 pm

    I love reds doors, too! I like seeing Amsterdam through your eyes, someone who knows it well but who is now almost a tourist in their hometown… that’s how I feel when I go back home from England, it’s all familiar and new at the same time, and all the things that I used to take for granted are now such luxuries!

  7. June 3, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oooooh, I love your pictures of Amsterdam!
    I’ve always wanted to go to Holland :) My parents actually lived in Rotterdam right after they got married.
    One day I’ll get there! You’ll have to tell me all the best places to go :)

Leave a Reply

