Skip to content

Back Home

May 13, 2010

Good-bye Amsterdam...

I’m sort of telling this story backwards by posting this photo of the moment where Amsterdam got smaller and smaller from where I was sitting…

It’s been harder than I thought it would be to get my mind around a post about my trip.

Being awake for 22 hours on Tuesday when traveling back doesn’t help.

Going back to back to work the very next day – yesterday – doesn’t help.

Slowly things are crystallizing in my brain though and soon I’ll have more to say and show.

What I can say though, is that it was a good trip:

I spoke Dutch for 11 days straight for the first time in almost 6 years.
I spent a lot of time with my parents and my sister.
I got to see my cousin that lives with them.
I got to see other extended family.
I got to see cousins I’ve babysat when they were little, but who are now not so little anymore.
I got to see friends and was relieved that spending time with them was like spending time with friends, not just people I once had a connection with.
I got to experience the hustle and bustle, the beauty and creativity of Amsterdam.
I saw approximately a million bikes. Possibly more.

I also realized that I truly feel that I have two places to call home, and that one doesn’t necessarily have to compete with the other. I can carry both in my heart – it is big enough.

More soon.

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 2:34 pm

    how wonderful Jadyn! welcome to your “other home” again….
    beautiful photo too. glad you were able to spend such quality time with family.
    xox natalea

  2. May 13, 2010 11:03 pm

    How incredible! I had a similar experience between Prague and Florida last time I travelled. For the first time I realized that I could be wonderfully happy in either place. Our hearts really do expand enough to take it all in and hold on to it. I’d love to see more pictures of Amsterdam.

  3. May 14, 2010 6:34 am

    Glad you had a good trip! I love the way you phrased it about carrying both homes in your heart… I always struggle with that, too, and it’s lovely to be reassured that we don’t have to pick just one. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

