Skip to content

Hello From Amsterdam and Giveaway Winner

May 3, 2010

I arrived in Amsterdam at 2pm on Friday. This also happened to be Queen’s Day in Holland.

Queen’s Day is a celebration of our queen’s birthday. This day is mainly a day to
sell your junk on the street (the Dutch don’t do yard sales, Queen’s Day is like a giant yard sale, but in a public place),
eat street food, drink,
and wear orange (Orange in Dutch = Oranje, which is the last name of the Dutch royal family).

After being re-united with my family at the airport, we headed for a Amsterdam-Noord to browse the flee market. I picked up a couple of things, including this cute little tin:

This morning, I put folded pieces of papers in it with names of everyone who left comments on my last post. My sister picked a piece of paper and the winner is…

I’m excited to bring back some goodies from Amsterdam for you Natalea!!

I also thank each and every one of you for your kind words.

I probably won’t be posting much in the next week as after 5 1/2 years of being away, I’m trying to squeeze as much out of my time in The Netherlands with my family! I’ll be back to regular posting when I get back though.

XO

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 3:54 pm

    Have a great time in Amsterdam! My fiance and I have that on our list of places that we want to visit and congratulations to Natalea for winning the giveaway!

    • May 17, 2010 8:46 pm

      Hi Jill! Thank you for your well-wishes for my trip! And yes, you should definitely visit Amsterdam! It’s a great place!

      xo

  2. May 3, 2010 5:56 pm

    That looks like fun! Hope you’re enjoying your time over there. Thanks for explaining why orange is a big deal… I’ve seen the Dutch get all decked out in orange so many times, and never thought to ask why! :)

    • May 17, 2010 8:42 pm

      Hi Astrid! I was glad you enjoyed my explanation of the Dutch penchant for wearing orange on days of national importance. I sometimes feel like I tend to over-explain things, but was glad you found it interesting. :)

      xo Jadyn

  3. May 3, 2010 6:19 pm

    YAY!! I’m so excited!!
    and thank you for the sweet little parcel I received from our “unravelling” mail! Made my day!
    Enjoy your time with your family! Relax, have fun and live in the moment!
    talk soon, xoxo natalea

  4. May 5, 2010 3:56 am

    Welcome back to Holland! : ) Almost 6 years since your last visit…wow! Lots of changes, huh? Have a great time!!!

    • May 17, 2010 8:49 pm

      Hi Ilona! Thank you! Yes, 6 years is a long time…and there definitely were some changes. It was so nice to be back! What part of Holland are you in?

      xo

Leave a Reply

