Skip to content

Cheerleaders of Creativity and Giveaway

April 29, 2010

I think we all need people around us that cheer us on in our creative endeavors. Today, my dog decided to be that person and when I was playing around with tissue paper, he insisted on being right there in the middle of the action. Such a supportive animal.

I did some sewing yesterday and was quite excited about it! To be fair, all I did was hem a pair of cut-off jeans by sewing the sides of the rim, which I rolled up. And then I hand-stitched an applique that I made out of one of Ben’s old t-shirts. Even though the actual sewing wasn’t that much, I really like the result. I think these shorts will definitely get some wear this summer.

It’s funny that no one will probably notice the little appliqued XO on the side, but I think it adds some cool texture to the jeans, just to add a little more interest. And I think of it as my way of sending a subliminal message of love into the world whenever I wear these.

I am loving my orchid. Isn’t it luscious? This photo also gives you a little peek of our dining room table. Our house is an open concept home and the dining room is right in the middle. I love to sit at the table – it’s where I do most of my studying, blogging, and everything else. Needless to say, it is quite often a messy area. When Ben and I sat at the table the other day enjoying our tea together, Ben looked at the table and remarked:

“Our table is so full of…”

(pause)

I was convinced he was gonna say “stuff’, as in: It’s so messy! He would have been right – and I would have a felt a little bad.

Instead, he finished the sentence with:

“…creative energy.”

It made me laugh, because I loved his way of looking at the mess at the table. In a few words he expressed how I also felt about what was going on at the dining room table, but I think most people would just have seen a mess.

So, in this way my husband is also a cheerleader of my creative pursuits.

We all need those, right?

Last Wednesday, I posted a picture of this mirror covered in newspaper. I spray-painted the frame bright white. It’s amazing how much of a difference a bit of paint can make! Just wanted to share the “after” pic!

And now

The First Ever Giveaway on my blog!

I’ve said it before, but I just think community is so important…

And blogging and its community has brought this whole new layer of joy to my life…

As a way of sharing the fun of my trip to The Netherlands, I thought it would be fun to bring something back for one lucky person. So, leave a comment if you’d like to be included in the draw. I will randomly pick one person that I will go shopping for in Amsterdam. I am thinking a Dutch fashion or home decorating magazine will for sure be included…

And who knows what else.

I promise it will be fun!

The comments will be closed on Sunday April 30. I think it would be nice to make sure that whatever I bring back will be in line with the taste of the winner, so I will be in touch to see what kind of magazine you’d be interested in and will use that as my guideline.

Oh, this is fun! I hope you guys like this idea.

Feel free to do any of the following for extra entries:
1. Tweet about the giveaway, copy and paste the tweet into the comment box and include @JadynSenior in your tweet.
2. Become a follower and leave a comment saying you did, or if you’re already a follower add an additional comment for it.

Look forward to hearing from you guys and to go shopping!

XO

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 5:15 am

    oh! how sweet of you! and what a fun giveaway too!
    I will keep my fingers crossed!
    I hope you have a great time in the Netherlands!
    talk soon, xo natalea

  2. April 29, 2010 6:22 am

    Wow, great shorts! That little appliqué detail is just gorgeous… and what a lovely thought behind it. I could imagine seeing them for sale for hundreds of pounds at TopShop or somewhere!
    Your tribe of creative supporters sounds wonderful! It’s funny how husbands can be so in tune with what we need to hear… even if they don’t normally let it on!
    What a generous giveaway… I’m a follower (but not a tweeter…), and if I do get so lucky as to be picked, I’d like you to bring back one of those little paper cones with chips in, covered in mayonnaise!!! :) Have fun!

  3. April 29, 2010 11:54 am

    I used to embroider little flowers and suns on my jeans when I was a teenager. I’ve been thinking about doing it again because people would get so excited when they spotted it ~ like it was a lucky omen for them.

    Have fun in the Netherlands! I loved camping there but you probably have family? You’ll probably have beautiful weather too. Sigh. Spring. All right, I think I’m ready for some more traveling and I just got home!

    I just got your letter too and will write back soon. I do love snail mail!! :)

  4. francina permalink
    April 29, 2010 4:29 pm

    It’s great that your husband is cheering for you. I have the feeling that the Unravelling really uncorked a lot of creative energy in you!.
    Have fun in your trip! And yay for the giveaway, I love it that it is a very personal surprise from you, darling.

    • May 17, 2010 8:28 pm

      Hi Francina! Thanks for you well-wishes for my trip! It was a great time! You are right that Unravelling has uncorked creative energy for me – I feel in some ways like I am more in touch with the little kid in me that was always happiest when making things. I hope the Unravelling experience was inspirational for you as well!

      xo Jadyn

  5. Kalie permalink
    April 30, 2010 12:35 pm

    Not only are those shorts adorable, but look super comfy, too! Good work! Like someone said above, they would probably cost all sorts of money in some store! As for your cheerleaders..they are what keep us going, and it sounds like you have such sweet ones! The best are the people (and animals!) who we love the most. It’s just so encouraging:]

    Have a wonderful time in the Netherlands! I have never been anywhere even near there, but I can only imagine it’s beautiful. Be safe, have fun, enjoy!

    • May 17, 2010 8:38 pm

      Hi Kalie! Thank you so much for your comment! And thanks for your well-wishes for my trip! It was a great time. I will continue to be posting photos that I took throughout this week – I took so many!

      Wishing you a great day,

      xo Jadyn

  6. May 6, 2010 9:13 am

    I’m too late for the giveaway, but I did want to comment on your husband’s comment – Awesome!

Leave a Reply

