Skip to content

If I Was a Quilter…

April 24, 2010

This quilt is entitled Liberty Jack. It was created by Janey Forgan and was featured in a V&A exhibition. The entire quilt is done in Liberty of London fabric (yes, same company of a recent collaboration with Target). A quick google search turned up some background information: Appartently, the thought behind the quilt is to represent English society and how new people, coming from other countries, all bring their own way of life to the country and leave their own imprint on society.

When I saw this picture, it was love at first sight! And after doing research on it, I really like what it represents – both something quintessentially and traditionally English (the Liberty of London print, the Union Jack) and an inclusion of different people groups within the UK. I like this because I like tradition and I like how identity can be connected with history. Yet, I also think this can lead to an attitude of exclusion if taken too far. But I really like inclusion and the embracing of new influences.

And also the design is just great and I’d love to cuddle up in this.

So, if I was a quilter…this is the quilt I’d like to make.

And maybe I should walk my talk and start learning how to quilt. Yesterday, I wrote about actually spending time on your dreams. Well, one of the things that, I kid you not, is pretty much on my mind every day, is that I want to sew more and be creative with fabrics. Yet, I don’t make the time for it. I told you my dreams aren’t always very big…But actually making time for this would be big for me. So, I guess acknowledging this is the first step to moving forward, right?

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:22 pm

    Yes I think you are definitely on the right track! My example is that I want to learn to draw…I was given 3 awesome drawing books, colored pencils and a sketchbook for my belated 26th birthday and I just need to start using what I have!

  2. April 25, 2010 12:15 pm

    When you are ready to quilt, find me! I love to teach it.
    (From April in Paris group.)

  3. April 26, 2010 5:33 am

    Love it! I do hope you manage to find time for a bit of sewing, as it can be just so relaxing, and feel so good to be making something beautiful and useful. And quilts are so nice to cuddle up with! What about one with a Dutch flag, too?!

Leave a Reply

