Skip to content

Swedish Ginger Snaps

April 13, 2010

University can be a bit of a lonely place and being 9 years older than a large percentage of the students doesn’t help. Fortunately, I met Andrea last year and we soon realized that we were about the same age and both married. I also soon realized that she is a lovely person and always fun to chat with. Andrea introduced me to her friend Linda this year and at 1pm most Fridays this semester you could find us sharing our lunches, chatting about classes and having coffee. It definitely made my Fridays so much more fun! So, for our last Friday this year, I wanted to bring something home-baked. I had been craving the Swedish ginger snaps that my local grocery store used to carry but discontinued, so I set out to make a batch of gingery bites.

Ingefarspepparkakor (say that 10 times fast!) aka Swedish Gingersnaps

Ingredients

I didn't have ground cloves, so I ground some up myself in my pestle and mortar. Pounding spices is kind of therapeutic!

2-1/3 cups all-purppose flour or unbleached white flour
2-3/4 tsp. ground ginger
1-1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp unsweetened cocoa
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup dark molasses
1/2 cup unsalted butter, slightly softened
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 egg whites
1 tsp vanilla
2-1/2 Tbsp granulated sugar

Directions

Sift together flour, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, salt, baking powder, baking soda and cocoa powder, set aside.

Make sure you hold back the egg yolk. And the look of brown sugar and molasses makes my mouth water - just thought you might want to know.

Combine butter, molasses and light brown sugar in large mixing bowl, beat until lightened and smooth. Beat in egg whites and vanilla. Stir in dry ingredients until mixture is well-blended and smooth.

What a beautiful lump of goodness.

Wrap dough in waxed paper or clingfilm and refrigerate at least 1-1/2 hours or up to 24 hours.

I left it to sit while I went to work. Then came home at 10pm and proceeded with the next step, also known as the fun part!

Working with half the dough at a time, and keeping the remaining chilled, shape dough into 1-inch balls and place about 1-1/2 inches apart on greased baking sheet. Lightly grease bottom of flatt-bottom drinking glass and dip into granulated sugar. Flatten each ball to about 1/4 inch thick and 1-3/4 inches in diameter, dipping glass bottom into sugar after each cookie to prevent dough from sticking.

If you look closely, the bottom is a bit dark...I forgot that our oven cooks things fast. Hey, it's real life, right?

Bake at 350 degrees on center shelf for 10 or 11 minutes, or until cookies are just tinged with brown around edges (note to self: brown not black edges) and almost firm on top. Place baking sheet on wire rack 1-1/2 minutes, then remove cookies and place them on wire rack to cool completely. They will firm up as they cool.

Cookies may be stored in an airtight container up to two weeks.

Makes 40 to 45 (2-1/4 inch) cookies (or so the recipe says, I got about 20 out of them. Maybe they were too big? I liked them the size they were though.)

These are not overly sweet, which is nice and they’re a treat with a cup of coffee or tea.

XO

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 9:37 am

    Oh yum, gingersnaps! They look delicious ;]

    You have a lovely blog. Regarding a post that you’ve written in the past, about how you used to have a hard time letting things go because you had an emotional attachment to them, I know what you mean, ahah, I still know what you mean. Last year, I shared the thought with a friend of how I don’t like picking favourites because everything all deserved to be liked. Colour was brought up at the time, and she said, “There’s always someone else to love the other colours of the rainbows” so I don’t have to feel responsible for them all. That was an AHA moment for me. But, I still can’t pick a favourite colour, I’ve grown to really like the spectrum ;p

  2. April 14, 2010 12:02 pm

    I’m so glad you shared this recipe! I’d been bemoaning the fact I forgot to buy a tin of Pepparkakor from ikea last weekend… and here’s the solution! Perfect. I’ll bet they’re better warm and homemade anyway!

Leave a Reply

