Skip to content

Don’t Forget to Dream

April 6, 2010


“There is a vitality, a life force, a quickening that is translated through you and into action and since there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. If you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and will be lost. It is not your business to determine how good it is, not how it compares with other expression. It is your business to keep yours clearly and indirectly… You have to keep open and aware directly to the urges that motivate you.” – Martha Graham, pioneer of modern dance

Being open and aware to the urges that motivate you…
It sounds easy enough, right?

The interesting thing is that I have found that it can be quite easy to forget what motivates me. The worst times in my life were the times where I stopped dreaming. The best are when I feel in touch with the things that make me tick, and when I have things to look forward to and to dream of, even some impossible ones.

Ben and I were talking the other day and we were thinking about the future. We realized how easy it can be to feel like where you are in life is IT. You get so used to the daily loads you bear that it is easy to let yourself be constrained by them – things like monthly bills, daily responsibilities, even people you care about.

But that’s the thing, where we are now is definitely not IT.

About ten years back, my husband and I started thinking that we wanted to move to Canada. And we started talking about it. And finally, in 2004 we did it, we moved. And it almost seems like nothing. So many people move and emigrate. At the same time it was huge. And, dare I say it, almost a little traumatic.

Now that we’ve bought a house, it is almost too easy to just want to feel ‘safe’ and to forget about taking chances.

Sometimes, I just want to curl up and feel safe. Kinda like this.

It can be a challenge to get to the core dreams that you carry, the things that form your unique expression in this world. It can be a challenge to feel that it’s worth it to take the time to dream. That it matters.



I made a vision board last year, and besides the things I would have expected to pick out, like pictures of a farmer’s market and a lovely garden nook complete with a cup of coffee, I was also very attracted to pictures of Africa. It has been my dream since I was little to go to Africa, yet at this point in my life it’s not a dream that I would give a voice to, were it not for actually spending some time on my dreams. And even now, thinking about going to Africa one day, my heart is aflutter with the excitement of that possibility one day. Yet, why does it matter to think about it now?

Besides going to Canada there have been other dreams in my life that happened when the time was ready, usually in such a way that there is a sense of effortlessness around it. But they wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t sown the seed for them earlier by paying attention to my dreams and sometimes nurturing it for a long time. So today, I want to challenge myself again – and you in the process – to dream and to pay attention to our heart’s longings without worrying about ‘how’ it’s going to happen.

Finding a way to document the things that move you is a great place to start

Try
– a vision board
– journalling
– starting a file folder with clippings, only keep the clippings that make your heart feel like you could leap like the dancer in the picture above, or something to that effect, and getting rid of the ones that fail to do so

Listen to yourself, pay attention to your life. What makes your heart soar? 10 years from now, what do you wish you’d have started now?

XO

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 6:36 pm

    wonderful post!
    have a great week Jadyn!
    xo natalea

Leave a Reply

