Skip to content

Good Friday

April 2, 2010

{image via luminarium}

In a previous post, I shared a little bit about my beliefs. Please, allow me to share what Good Friday means to me.

On Good Friday, I enjoy reflecting on the celebration of the death of one remarkable Person who walked this earth. The celebrating comes in because we believe this death wasn’t the end, but only the beginning. And because through this beginning, there is the certainty of hope of life – not just this life of walking this earth but life to its fullest both here on earth and after.

This poem by John Donne is incredible in its humility. I found it in a little book called Poetry to Heal Your Blues. It may seem unlikely that this poem will heal anyone’s blues, what with words like sin and fear and such.

I think, though, that when something expresses eloquently something that you feel deep inside to be true even when it’s not the most cheerful, it can lift your blues in the acknowledging of that emotion and in helping you reflect on it more deeply.

Anyway, I invite you to read it for yourself and see what you think.

A HYMN TO GOD THE FATHER.
by John Donne

I.
WILT Thou forgive that sin where I begun,
Which was my sin, though it were done before?
Wilt Thou forgive that sin, through which I run,
And do run still, though still I do deplore?
When Thou hast done, Thou hast not done,
For I have more.

II.
Wilt Thou forgive that sin which I have won
Others to sin, and made my sin their door?
Wilt Thou forgive that sin which I did shun
A year or two, but wallowed in a score?
When Thou hast done, Thou hast not done,
For I have more.

III.
I have a sin of fear, that when I have spun
My last thread, I shall perish on the shore ;
But swear by Thyself, that at my death Thy Son
Shall shine as he shines now, and heretofore ;
And having done that, Thou hast done ;
I fear no more.

Source:
Donne, John. Poems of John Donne. vol I.
E. K. Chambers, ed.
London, Lawrence & Bullen, 1896. 213.

Wishing you a beautiful Easter weekend filled with joy and hope…and chocolate!

XO

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

