Skip to content

Dutch by Design

March 23, 2010

I do have a soft spot for the design sensibilities of my own home country. Even though it is said about the French, I tend to think that the Dutch also have a certain Je ne sais quoi.

There is a lamp that I’ve been a little obsessed with from the moment I spotted it in a magazine. I later found out it was designed by Dutch designer Tord Boontje. His work is really magical without being sentimental. I saw this lamp in real life in the MoMa store in New York and drooled over it. It is not even that expensive – being priced at $92. Being a student with a mortgage, that was still beyond my budget for light-fixtures (which is non-existent, ha!), but the price tag is reason enough for me to dream that one day I might own it.

I think I like the white one the best.

This is my next favorite. Isn't it dreamy?

Source Dutch by Design website

Designs like this really inspire me – and not just to want to buy! I hope you are all having a great week so far and finding inspiration in the things around you.

XO

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

