Skip to content

Popover Fun

March 20, 2010

I have been a little obsessed with popovers lately. They are easy to make, basically you make a batter much like you would for pancakes. The great thing is that you don’t have to be standing by the stove frying them – you just put them in the oven, go do something else, and 35 minutes later voila, light and airy buns that are crusty on the outside and slightly custardy on the inside.

They are great
– in the morning with a dollop of jam and a cup of tea.
– as a mid-morning snack with Nutella and a cup of coffee.
– for lunch with a bowl of soup.
– for dinner instead of dinner rolls.

You get the idea, they are versatile. And don’t worry, we haven’t been eating them for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But have been making them quite a lot.

Easy Ethereal Popovers

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing the pan
2 large eggs
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups milk

Preheat the oven to 450 (although my oven is too hot and I start at 425 and later turn it down to 325), and thoroughly grease the pan.

Melt the tablespoon of butter and set it aside to cool slightly.

Break the eggs into a bowl and whisk gently. Then stir in the flour, salt, milk and melted butter until just barely blended; a few lumps are fine.

I know you've probably seen a batter before...but I thought I'd include a picture just for fun.

Fill the cups 2/3 to 3/4 full, and bake at 450 for 15 minutes.

I use a muffin pan. I like the results best when I make ten of them, so I leave two cups open.

Reduce oven temp to 350 and bake an additional 20 minutes. (No peeking! Opening the oven door in the first 20 minutes can cause them to collapse.)

When they are brown and crusty, remove them from the oven, and make a small slit in their sides with a sharp knife. Serve immediately, or return to turned-off oven. Makes 6 to 10 popovers.

Don't they look lovely? Okay, so the ones on the right didn't quite 'pop'. They were still tasty though.

Recipe adapted from the Joy of Cooking. I found it via www.thekitchn.com, a great resource on everything cooking related.

XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 9:28 pm

    Mmm…I love popovers too. Haven’t had them in forever!

  2. March 22, 2010 6:05 am

    these look reall good! I must try them soon! I’m always looking for new recipes…thank you
    xo natalea

  3. March 22, 2010 12:24 pm

    Mmmmmm……Nutella. I just made chocolate chip orange scones from the Joy of Cooking the other day. I’ll basically eat anything scone or muffinlike. These popovers look delicious. I wonder…with some soft sweet cheese?

Leave a Reply

