Skip to content

Easy Peasy Lentil Soup

March 9, 2010

I love and adore food. It’s not that I’m picky – as in I’m no food snob. Just ask my co-workers, they have taken to bringing me an extra serving of pickles when they get a sub from next-door on their lunch, because I will munch on theirs if they are within my reach. It is also known that I will rarely turn down food if offered.
What it is though, is that I enjoy the action of ingesting edible items – and everything surrounding it. I like preparing it. I like to grow some of it (hopefully more this summer). I like to read about it – even when I was little I’d take cookbooks home from the library to read before bed ( I know, I was a weird child). One of the books that made most of an impression on me was the British children’s book writer Roald Dahl’s Cookbook. Roald Dahl is known for his magical stories, and his gift with words makes his love for food so palpable in the descriptions in this book. I just realized I don’t even own a copy of it -that needs to be remedied.

(Honey, if your read this, remember it’s my birthday in a few months. Thank you.)

Anyway, there are two other Brits who made a serious impression in my love for food. One is the amazing Nigella Lawson and the other the always energetic Jamie Oliver. It was Jamie’s voice (in my head, unfortunately, not my kitchen) that kept telling me things were gonna be ‘easy peasy’ as I tackled my first recipes from The Naked Chef. It was Nigella’s writing that gave me a love for simple, unpretentious food.

Now, I have to mention that I don’t cook every day – or even close. I don’t always eat balanced meals (sorry, mom!). I often work at night and in between school and work there isn’t always time (I know, join the club, right?). But I do love food, and I like to share my excitement, so there will be recipes to share.

Here’s one that truly is easy peasy. I made it a couple of days ago, when I thought I had nothing to eat in the house. But soup is one of those things that can be thrown together from almost anything. As long as you have some kind of stock in the house, you’re good to go. I found this recipe via www.allrecipes.com.

Ingredients

* 2 cups dry lentils
* 2 quarts chicken broth
* 1 onion, diced
* 1/4 cup tomato paste
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 1 tablespoon ground cumin

Directions

I added the tomato paste last and this is before - you can really see all the ingredients in the pot

In a large saucepan combine lentils, broth, onion, tomato paste, garlic and cumin.

This is with the tomato paste. I know it looks like it will be really tomato-y, but it's not.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer until lentils are soft, 30 to 45 minutes. Serve with a squeeze of lemon.

Tadaaa, finished product. Yum!

I read some of the comments added to this recipe on allrecipes and as a result, I increased the amount of garlic to three cloves, added a couple of bay leaves and a shake of paprika, and added all of the 5.5 oz tinned tomatoes that I had.

The soup has a lovely tanginess from the tomatoes and an earthy spiciness from the cumin and paprika. It’s always nice to have something easy and satisfying in your repertoire and this is definitely one of those

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 3:51 am

    You also loved to ingest unedible things when you were little :) love you!!

Leave a Reply

