Skip to content

Color My World Challenge // Week 4: Fabric

April 24, 2012

This week’s challenge was using fabric with your chosen color. Inspired by my inspiration photos, I decided to make a table cloth using canvas drop cloth and yellow paint.

I thought about using several types of paint, and decided on Martha Stewart’s multi-surface craft paint.

yellow band table cloth

I bought a drop cloth that was rectangular and I knew beforehand that the sides weren’t going to reach the floor but rather than buying the larger size drop cloth, I liked the idea of doing something asymmetrical.

After playing around with it and thinking of different ways to cut it up and stitching it back together to create a new shape, I liked simply gathering the sides and tying them together.

Then I took a large brush and went to town with yellow paint along the edge.

I had to trim a piece off and hemmed the edge. The nice thing about drop cloth is that it’s hemmed on both sides, so the other side was good to go.

I tied the sides with pieces of twine.

It was a really fun little project and I like what it adds to the dining room!

Next week, Tuesday May 1st, will be the last week of this challenge and it will include a link party where you can show off any way you’ve added color to your home!

Be sure to check out the other Color My World challenge bloggers too!

Ange – The Blooming Hydrangea
Anna – A Newfound Treasure
Carmel – Our 5th House
Cassie – Primitive and Proper
Jessamie – Bird and Branch Redesign
Julia – Pawley’s Island Posh
Kristy – Hyphen Interiors
Lisa – Shine Your Light
Lisa – Trapped in North Jersey
Maury – Life on Mars
Shaunna – Perfectly Imperfect
Shelley – Crazy Wonderful
Suzy – Saved by Suzy
Tiffany – Living Savvy
Tiffany – Worthwhile Domicile
Vashti & Jamie – Like Me Some

Have a very lovely & colorful day!

Find previous Color My World posts here: Week 1, week 2 and week 3.

Linking up with Take It On Tuesday blog hop.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 11:59 am

    Super cute! Love the bright stripe of yellow it adds!

  2. April 24, 2012 12:58 pm

    Love the yellow edging on the table cloth! I’ve heard great things about using drop clothes in your home projects, I might need to jump on that!

  3. April 24, 2012 2:33 pm

    I love the shape, makes it so much more interesting than an ordinary table cloth! x

  4. April 24, 2012 2:53 pm

    I love your solution of gathering the drop cloth with twine. It looks great Jadyn!

  5. April 24, 2012 7:41 pm

    Love this Jadyn! That color yellow just makes me happy!

  6. April 24, 2012 9:01 pm

    What a fun idea – yellow is such a happy color!

  7. April 24, 2012 9:23 pm

    Love the way it turned out! I never would have thought to make an asymmetrical tablecloth.

  8. April 24, 2012 9:28 pm

    Great job! I love the yellow…so fresh.

  9. April 24, 2012 11:05 pm

    This is so cute! What a great idea and it looks great on your table.
    Thanks for sharing

    xo Jessica
    http://www.newlyloved.com

  10. April 24, 2012 11:16 pm

    Great idea! Nice pop of color, nothing overwhelming and love how it’s asymmetrical.

  11. April 25, 2012 12:34 am

    Very nice!! I like the asymmetrical look!! And the yellow stripe looks great. I’m loving it.

    I’m so glad you linked up to Romance on a Dime. I’m pinning this!

  12. April 25, 2012 10:56 am

    I love how this came out! Looks really nice and the yellow really brightens the room :)

  13. April 25, 2012 5:00 pm

    Thanks for the comment back & checking out my blog!
    Want to follow each other?!

    xo Jessica
    http://www.newlyloved.com

  14. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    April 27, 2012 10:48 pm

    I love it. The thought of asymmetry makes me nervous, but you definitely pulled it off. What does your husband think of all these challenges?

  15. April 28, 2012 9:08 am

    That is so pretty and such a creative idea! I’m obcessed with yellow, as of late.

    Thank you SO MUCH for your comment on my ‘changing’ post the other day… it was great to hear from you but even more wonderful to have your encouragment. It means so much!!

    Have a lovely weekend!

    SoUtHeRnPiNkY.bLoGsPoT.cOm

  16. April 30, 2012 5:41 pm

    This is GENIUS! It looks so beautiful and such a great splash of color! :)

    joannadell.blogspot.com

  17. May 2, 2012 9:54 am

    I love the idea))) looks fantastic)

  18. September 30, 2013 11:50 am

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with helpful info to work on.
    You have done a formidable activity and our entire
    community shall be grateful to you.

  19. October 1, 2013 1:01 pm

    Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking a few minutes
    and actual effort to create a good article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and
    don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

