Skip to content

Color My World // Week 1

April 3, 2012

Guess what?! It’s time for a challenge!!

I love a challenge, so when I received an invite from Jessamie and Suzy to participate in one they cooked up, I was excited right away.

So, today is post #1 in the Color My World series. Over the course of 5 weeks, you can expect a weekly post on incorporating my color of choice in our decor. I’ll also link to the participating bloggers, so you can see how they get creative with their colors as well! So fun!

And even more fun…on week 5, we’ll be adding a LINK PARTY which will be linked across all of our blogs (that means, if you link up on ONE blog, your link will show up on ALL blogs!), where YOU can also show off how you have added a color to your home in whatever way you like!! Aargh, I am so excited for this!! I love color and I love seeing people get creative, so I’d love to come see what YOU’re up to! I hope you’ll consider joining us by adding some color to your house! The post for week 5 will go up on May 1, so mark you’re calendar if you’re thinking about participating!!

On to the challenge! The color I picked is…

YELLOW

This actually is a challenge for me because I disliked yellow for years. My childhood bedroom was yellow, and once I outgrew it, I was somehow done with yellow too. But recently, it’s been calling to me and a few weeks ago, I bought a sample pot of yellow paint on a whim because, as I told Ben, I just wanted to paint something yellow.

So, here we go. Today, I’ll just be sharing some inspiration pictures.

Bright and airy rooms with a pop of yellow feel so cheery and Spring-like.

{Image: Villa d’Esta}

Love this dip-dyed table cloth!

{Image: Photography by Emma Lee for House to Home UK found via Merriment Events}

Not yellow, but I love the more layered look of this one too.

{Image: photographed by Polly Wreford for March 2012 Red magazine, found via Merriment Events}

So pretty and fun!

{Image: Little Bit Funky}

I have some ideas floating around in my head & can’t wait to get started & share with you along the way!

Be sure to check my fellow Color My World bloggers too! So excited to see what they do!

Ange – The Blooming Hydrangea
Anna – A Newfound Treasure
Carmel – Our 5th House
Cassie – Primitive and Proper
Jessamie – Bird and Branch Redesign
Julia – Pawley’s Island Posh
Kristy – Hyphen Interiors
Lisa – Shine Your Light
Lisa – Trapped in North Jersey
Maury – Life on Mars
Shaunna – Perfectly Imperfect
Shelley – Crazy Wonderful
Suzy – Saved by Suzy
Tiffany – Living Savvy
Tiffany – Worthwhile Domicile
Vashti & Jamie – Like Me Some

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 7:56 am

    I just discovered your blog through the link on Our Fifth House. I love Holland and have gone there bicycling every year for the past seven years. My daughter/blog partner has a little bungalow, also. Those houses have so much charm. I think your yellow will be fantastic.

  2. April 3, 2012 8:38 am

    I love yellow and grey together – it is so modern!

  3. April 3, 2012 9:08 am

    I think yellow is so much fun! It is bold and bright, but still a neutral and can be worked in anywhere! You inspiration pics are perfect! It will be fun to see where this goes!

  4. April 3, 2012 9:25 am

    Loving the yellow! That’s my color too. I’m normally terrified of yellow (it can be really overwhelming) but I’m definitely thinking a couple little pops of yellow is just what I need!

  5. April 3, 2012 9:46 am

    Yellow is so cheerful and happy – how can you go wrong with pops of this color in your house? Looking forward where you go with this challenge, Jadyn! And I absolutely adore that dye-dipped tablecloth…do I have time to make a couple of those before Easter? Hmmmm. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. April 3, 2012 9:52 am

    There are so many shades of yellow, I can’t wait to see what you do with it! I’m so glad you joined the challenge! We are on the same page about childhood bedrooms. I truly don’t know if I’ll ever love lavender again.

  7. April 3, 2012 9:53 am

    Great pick — such a cheery color! Especially love that top yellow chair.

  8. April 3, 2012 10:41 am

    Yay, I love yellow. I may layer that in some later. So many choices!! Ahh. I was so indecisive on this challenge. Can’t wait to see what you do.

  9. April 3, 2012 1:37 pm

    I’m a big fan of yellow. It’s so bold and cheerful. You can’t help but be happy around the color yellow. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  10. Lisa C permalink
    April 3, 2012 9:33 pm

    I love yellow; its so happy. There’s a little bit of yellow in almost every room in my house. I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  11. April 3, 2012 9:47 pm

    oh i love all of these- that yellow chair… the table cloth! can’t wait to see what you do! :)

  12. April 3, 2012 11:45 pm

    yay for YELLOW! can’t wait to see how you incorporate it in your home over the next few weeks!! and i adore your inspiration photos!!

  13. April 4, 2012 12:46 am

    I just added yellow to my daugther’s room and it is really bright and spring like, it makes me smile! You are going to love it in your home! Looking forward to seeing what you do with this fun color! :)

  14. April 5, 2012 6:53 am

    I just found your blog via the Color my World challenge and I’m in love with bright yellow right now! It’s going to be the new color of my mail box (and I bought a great yellow pillow from Pier 1 for my front porch). It’s so cheery and helps brighten up my bland front porch. Now I’m off to follow you so I can check your blog out more!

    Megan @ thependletonhouse.blogspot.com

  15. April 5, 2012 11:56 am

    I was not a personal fan of yellow for years but have grown to appreciate different shades of it and you have some sunny ones here.

  16. April 5, 2012 6:01 pm

    I also used to hate yellow, maybe because my best friend’s bedroom was yellow and I spent way too much time (in a good way) there watching Labyrinth and singing along to Bush songs. Now, I actually find myself loving yellow, but I still tend toward the super-bright rather than the pale color she had. Those utensils reeeeally appeal to me.

  17. mrsbachelorgirl permalink
    April 7, 2012 9:32 pm

    I love yellow! I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  18. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:30 pm

    So I read the word “yellow” before I continued scrolling down. I expected to find a sunshine yellow, or a marigold yellow, or maybe even a light eastery spring yellow. Then I kept scrolling and found sunshine yellow :) – I’m excited to see where this goes :)

  19. April 19, 2012 4:41 pm

    Ok seriously … this is passing onto me too … painted wooden utensil handles …. they are just so perfect … i must do ….

Trackbacks

  1. Color My World // Week 3: Paint « Dutch.British.Love
  2. Color My World Challenge // Week 4: Fabric « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

