Skip to content

DIY Leg Warmers

February 25, 2012

A few weeks ago I made the pair of leg warmers on the right as a present for my sister-in-law. I’d come across the idea for using an old sweater for this on Pinterest and when I followed the link to where the photo was pinned from, found this awesome tutorial at Made By Lex and just followed the instructions she gave.

I gave them a test run myself and almost wanted to keep them. So I made myself a pair out of one of Ben’s old sweaters that he doesn’t wear anymore.

These photos were taken at night with a cellphone, so the quality isn’t great but I hope they do the trick in case you’re interested in how these were made. (And there’s always the link above for the tutorial.)

Cut off the arms of a sweater.

Fold the side where you cut to the inside twice over and stitch to hem. (I did this by hand.)

It doesn’t have to look perfect, since you tuck this side into your boots.

I embellished mine with ribbons and attached them by sewing a line down the center, making sure to attach them to the seams that I’d be wearing on the inside.

I love how they keep my legs warm and add a bit of extra color to my outfit.

(My hand is moving in the photo because I was trying to adjust my hair, it made me laugh because it looks like I am waving.)

Thanks for letting me share my handmade leg warmers with you! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Linking up with Take it on Tuesday Blog Hop

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 10:31 pm

    Oh my gosh those are stinkin cute! I rarely get the opportunity to wear leg Warner’s, darn it. You look so cute in the picture!

  2. February 26, 2012 7:46 am

    So cute! I wear legwarmers daily…I should make some pretty bow one’s for myself!

    Cheers,
    Messy

  3. February 26, 2012 7:47 am

    Wow – those look great! I love how easy they are to make. Super cute! Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. February 26, 2012 8:05 am

    I just found you site and I’m your newest follower! Cute leg warmers.
    Beth

  5. February 26, 2012 8:29 am

    So cute! I wish I were crafty.

  6. February 26, 2012 10:52 am

    so fun! you look beautiful!
    hope you are enjoying your weekend Jadyn!
    xo nat

  7. February 26, 2012 12:47 pm

    What a great idea, and so simple! Thanks a lot.
    I like your jacket very much.

  8. February 26, 2012 6:15 pm

    Those are so very cute. How simple and creative!

    I’m following you on Bloglovin for more DIYs.

  9. February 26, 2012 7:41 pm

    Love these! You did an awesome job! : )

  10. February 27, 2012 9:48 am

    So cute! You make them look adorable.

  11. ChrystinaNoel permalink
    February 29, 2012 10:32 pm

    I’m impressed.

  12. March 2, 2012 1:30 pm

    Thanks for linking this up to the Take it on Tuesday blog hop! I want to try this!

  13. March 6, 2012 3:07 pm

    Cute cute cute! What a great gift idea! :)

    xoxo laurie

Trackbacks

  1. Take it on Tuesday blog hop #19: 52 Reasons I Love You cards « Romance on a Dime

Leave a Reply

