Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Vosges Paris

April 18, 2011

While I am in The Netherlands (I’m heading home tomorrow), it seems appropriate to highlight a Dutch interior design blog. Vosges Paris truly is one of my favorite blogs around, because every post written by Desiree is a treat.

One of my all time favorite posts on her blog is about The Master Plan that Desiree keeps in the back of her head for her house and slowly works toward. It’s always so fun to get a peek into someone’s creative process especially if you really enjoy their work and find yourself wondering: How do they do it? And how did they think of that?

She favors black, white and gray and uses it to great effect:

Lately, she has been playing around with a living mood board. How beautiful is this?

She has a beautiful concrete wall in her living room. It used to be covered in wallpaper, but after discovering the concrete wall when removing the wallpaper, she’s kept it for the industrial vibe it adds.

This is what she did with it for Christmas. She designed the Merry Christmas print herself, inspired by and Ikea print.

One of my all time favorite images on her blog is this one. I think it’s so perfect in its simplicity and I love the black, white, gray and lavender palette. She’s since changed here bedroom around – as one does – and it looks great now too. One thing that I love, that has remained unchanged, is the bedside table. For someone who likes to keep a lot beside their bed (like me, and, um, usually it’s piled up on the floor) this is a perfect solution.

Last year, before I went to Amsterdam, I sent Desiree an e-mail because she lives in Amsterdam and I asked her what her favorite spots are to shop for home decor. She was kind enough to send me a list. I wrote down the list and walked part of the route that she’d described in there and went places that I definitely wouldn’t have thought of otherwise even though I grew up there! One of the places I went to was the Noordermarkt, a market mostly known for antiques, vintage home decor and fabrics. This morning, I went again and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’ll post about some highlights of my Dutch trip later this week!

All photos in this post by Desiree from Vosges Paris

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 7:44 pm

    I’m so glad you made it home and got to enjoy yourself! Travel safely.

  2. April 18, 2011 8:01 pm

    Thank you for the glimpse into interior design from afar :)
    Travel safely.

  3. April 20, 2011 1:46 am

    Lovely pictures, I like the one about Christmas very much, I love the Christmas tree, so clever yet so simple.

  4. April 21, 2011 4:54 pm

    That concrete wall is just awesome! Thanks so much for becoming a Rosebud!

  5. April 21, 2011 6:24 pm

    Nou nou wat een lief stukje heb je daar geschreven *bloos* het is best vreemd om te lezen hoe iemand over je hersenspinsels schrijft ! Ik ga t even linken dankjewel en veel plezier in ons landje.. met mooi zonnig weer! ik ben toevallig net bezig om iets op mijn blog te gaan schrijven over een route met leuke amsterdamse plekjes.. dus als je nog iets tegenkomt laat het mij weten ;)

    desiree

  6. April 21, 2011 7:09 pm

    in my home, there is lots of color. every wall is a jeweled color. but i also love and appreciate the opposite that you’ve shown here so beautifully-

  7. ~V~ permalink
    May 9, 2011 3:37 pm

    Jadyn, I can’t figure out how to contact you, so I thought I’d leave another comment ;-)
    If you’d be interested in doing a guest post on my trendy tuesday, let me know!
    Fellow indie bizzer and email follower,
    Virginia
    http://www.geekyandsassy.com

Leave a Reply

