Skip to content

Living Room Treasures

January 27, 2011

I thought I’d show you some of the hunting and gathering I’ve done for our living room.

When working with interior decorator Maggie on plans for our living room, she suggested thrifting a trunk to use as a coffee table. I really liked that idea. After stalking Kijiji for months, I finally found a trunk that was the right height. For a coffee table, it is nice when the surface is about the same height as the top of the seating, but most trunks I found were either too low or too high. I was happy to finally spot a trunk that had the right height, and it also works with our color scheme:

Living Room

Here’s the top (and a peek at my stripe-y slippers):

Also in the photo, you can see the blanket that I bought a while ago. You may remember a post on it I did a while ago. I bought it at HSN.com, it’s from the Nate Berkus line (no longer available). It came packaged so nicely with a sweet bow on it:

Nate Berkus Herringbone Blanket

It really has such a nice weight to it and is a very soft cotton.

Nate Berkus Herringbone Blanket 2

You may remember that I had the blanket sent to my sister in California, because HSN doesn’t ship to Canada. Also, shipped to her address was 6 yards of this beautiful ikat damask fabric to save on shipping. The drawback of this was that I only wanted to take a carry-on with me and had to leave space in my little carry-on suitcase for all this fabric. So I literally only packed one pair of jeans (and a few other items of clothing, don’t worry) and I have to say, it was totally worth it! I adore the pattern and the color.

Ikat Damask

I bought this Amy Butler Paisley from Etsy seller Viasplace:

There are moments where I wish I had just a bit more money to spend and that I could go out and buy some of the things I’d really like to get, and maybe pay someone to do my sewing and painting to just get it all over with. But you know what? At the end of the day, I really love gathering things over time. I’m enjoying this phase of my life where I’m finding out what I really like and I’m having fun adding things when I can. Each new item is a new delight.

Have you found any treasures lately?

XO Jadyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 9:07 pm

    What a lovely trunk. But even more special — your pomegranate centrepiece! Way to get the reds in there!

  2. January 29, 2011 12:05 am

    What a good find the trunk was! Well worth the wait. And versatile, you can always toss fabric over it to change it up on a whim without a lot of effort.

  3. January 30, 2011 10:25 pm

    Thanks so much for the comforting comments on my blog. Your blog is lovely. My coffee table is a big old cedar trunk that was my grandmothers. I remember climbing in it when I was little. I think homes are so much more special when one doesn’t have all the money to buy at once. Our tastes change and as we keep adding, our homes really become who we are as we evolve too.

  4. January 31, 2011 1:28 am

    i’ve been in that mode of decorating, and just wanting to get it all done, but when you can take your time and just buy really special thing like you’re doing, it makes you so much happier in the end.

  5. January 31, 2011 10:25 pm

    I cracked up about only one pair of jeans just for the love of taking goodies home with you! You know I love the fabric, and the trunk is just perfect. Little by little it will all come together, and yes, you will be so much more pleased in the end with having done it yourself. When you pay someone, you invest more money, and then when you want to change things up, you don’t cause you spent so much money haha. I got a new iPad for Christmas, and I haven’t gotten really good a the keyboard, so I have been reading your blog but I have to remember to go on my desktop to leave comments. Hopefully I will get a little faster on the iPad and my comments won’t be so late.

Leave a Reply

